Our Members

Join the Global Encryption Coalition (GEC) to: 

  • Access informed policy debates on encryption around the world
  • Gather support from a wide range of tech organizations and cybersecurity experts for your advocacy
  • Amplify your advocacy messages through the global GEC member community
  • Show your support for an encrypted, safer Internet for all

Steering Committee

Center for Democracy & Technology
Global Partners Digital
Internet Society

Organizational Members

Civil Society Organizations

Africa Media and Information Technology Initiative (AfriMITI)
African Declaration on Internet Rights and Freedoms Coalition
Aapti Institute
American Civil Liberties Union
Association for Progressive Communications (APC)
Autorité de Régulation de la Poste et des Télécommunications (ARPTC)
Bangladesh NGOs Network for Radio and Communication (BNNRC)
Big Brother Watch
Bits of Freedom
Canadian Civil Liberties Association
Centre for Multilateral Affairs (CfMA)
Centre for Women’s Studies, DAV College, Amritsar, India
Centro de Mujeres en Tecnología
Centro Latinoamericano de Investigaciones Sobre Internet
Citizen Lab, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Affairs
Coalizão Direitos na Rede
Coding Rights
Collaboration on International ICT Policy for East and Southern Africa (CIPESA)
Comisión para la Colaboración del Desarrollo de Internet en las IES (CODIIES)
Commission for The Disappeared and Victims of Violence (KontraS)
Committee to Protect Journalists
Cooperativa Tierra Común
Cybersecurity Advisors Network (CyAN)
Derechos Digitales
Digital Empowerment Foundation
Digital Rights Watch
DNS Africa Media and Communications
E-Governance and Internet Governance Foundation for Africa (EGIGFA)
Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF)
Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC)
Encryption Europe
Fundación Karisma
Fundación Cibervoluntarios
Future of Finance Initiative, Dvara Research
Free Press Unlimited
Freedom of the Press Foundation
Global Voices
Ikagai Nation
Institute for Policy Innovation
Instituto Beta. Internet & Democracia – IBIDEM
Instituto Liberdade Digital
Instituto Nacional para el Desarrollo de la Ciberseguridad
Instituto Nupef
International Press Institute (IPI)
Internet Governance Project Internet Governance Project, Georgia Institute of Technology School of Public Policy
Internet Freedom Foundation
Internet Society Argentina Chapter
Internet Society Armenia Chapter
Internet Society Belgium Chapter
Internet Society Benin Chapter
Internet Society Bolivia Chapter
Internet Society Catalan Chapter
Internet Society Chad Chapter
Internet Society Chile Chapter
Internet Society Colombia Chapter
Internet Society Costa Rica Chapter
Internet Society Delhi Chapter
Internet Society Dominican Republic Chapter
Internet Society Ecuador Chapter
Internet Society El Salvador Chapter
Internet Society Germany Chapter
Internet Society Ghana Chapter
Internet Society Guatemala Chapter
Internet Society Hyderabad Chapter
Internet Society Honduras Chapter
Internet Society Ivory Coast Chapter
Internet Society Jamaica Chapter
Internet Society Liberia Chapter
Internet Society Mexico Chapter
Internet Society Nicaragua Chapter
Internet Society Nigeria Chapter
Internet Society Panama Chapter
Internet Society Paraguay Chapter
Internet Society Peru Chapter
Internet Society Portugal Chapter
Internet Society Puerto Rico Chapter
Internet Society Quebec Chapter
Internet Society Senegal Chapter
Internet Society Somalia Chapter
Internet Society Sri Lanka Chapter
Internet Society St. Vincent and the Grenadines Chapter
Internet Society Switzerland Chapter
Internet Society Tanzania Chapter
Internet Society Venezuela Chapter
Internet Society UK England Chapter
Internet Society Uganda Chapter
Internet Society Uruguay Chapter
Intervozes – Coletivo Brasil de Comunicação Social
IPANDETEC Central America
IP.rec – Instituto de Pesquisa em Direito e Tecnologia do Recife
IRIS – Instituto de Referência em Internet e Sociedade
ITS RIO – The Institute for Technology & Society of Rio
IT for Change
JCA-NET (Japan)
Justice Call
Kijiji Yeetu
Laboratory of Public Policy and Internet – LAPIN
LGBT Technology Partnership & Institute
Libyan Organization for Information Technology and Telecommunications
Media Rights Agenda (MRA)
New America’s Open Technology Institute
NUST Media and Communication Society
Open Government Network for Europe
Open Media
Open Rights Group
Paradigm Initiative
PEN America
pretty Easy privacy Foundation
Privacy International
Privacy & Access Council of Canada (PACC)
Prostasia Foundation
Ranking Digital Rights
R3D – Red en Defensa de los Derechos Digitales
Samuelson-Glushko Canadian Internet Policy & Public Interest Clinic (CIPPIC)
Small Media
Software Freedom Law Center
Stiftung Neue Verantwortung
Tattle Civic Technologies
Tech for Good Asia
Tecnológico Nacional de México campus Mérida
The Centre for Internet and Society, India
The Dialogue
The Tor Project
Virtual University of Senegal (UVS)
West Africa ICT Action Network
Youth Forum for Social Justice
Yusuf Maitama Sule Umiversity, Kano Nigeria
64 plus Sport Veterans NGO

Businesses and Trade Associations

Brave Software
Business Works Ltd.
eco – Association of the Internet Industry
EcoBand Networks
Happiest Minds
Indic Project
Internet Exchange Services Yucatán A.C.
Internet Technologies Center
IT Consulting, Armenia
MediaDefined, Inc.
MEGA The Privacy Company
NUTS Technologies
OhmTel Ltd.
Private Internet Access
Secure Point Technologies
Simply Secure
Swathanthra Malayalam Computing (SMC)
The @ Company
The Interpeer Project

Individual Members

Technical and Cybersecurity Experts

Alexandra Argüelles, Mozilla
Ben Adida, Executive Director, VotingWorks
Erica Portnoy, Senior Staff Technologist, EFF
Eric Rescorla, CTO, Firefox, Mozilla
Gurshabad Gover, Research Manager, The Centre for Internet and Society
Hans Bathija, Shadowfactory
Jeff Landale, Operations Director, Calyx Institute
Jon Callas, Director of Technology Projects, EFF
Kudakwashe Hove, Policy Officer, Privacy International
Mallory Knodel, Chief Technology Officer, Center for Democracy & Technology
Nicholas Merrill, Executive Director, The Calyx Institute
Richard Hill, Association for Proper Internet Governance
Sofía Celi, Cryptography Researcher, Cloudflare
Stephanie Henkel, Social Media Team, #privacyisnotacrime
Roger Dingledine, President / Research Director, The Tor Project
Wendy Seltzer, Strategy Lead and Counsel, World Wide Web Consortium – W3C


Ahmed Ghappour, Associate Professor of Law, Boston University School of Law
Chelsea Komlo, University of Waterloo
Debayan Gupta, Ashoka University
Eunice A. Pérez Coello, TecNM campus Mérida
Hugo Barbosa, Assistant Professor, Lusófona University
Manish Kumar, Assistant Professor, M. S. Ramaiah Institute of Technology
Moustapha Sokhna, Assistant Général Technique, Université Virtuelle du Sénégal
Sanoussi Bendjedid Rachad, University of Abomey-Calavi

Members of GEC Working Groups (Doctors for Encryption, Journalists for Encryption)